Well, it’s December again, already.  It’s hard to believe; this year has flown by.  I know that as we get older, time seems to pass more quickly, but I really feel that I have just about missed this year.

Part of the issue is that when you work in retail, it sort of changes Christmas for you.  It’s hard to be surrounded by so much Christmas regalia all the time and not get a little desensitized to it.  So I haven’t had much Christmas spirit really, and the idea that it could be nearly December just seemed really alien.

Then Scott and the girls decided to decorate the house and the yard while I was at work Saturday, and I came home to a glorious Christmas panoply.  I have to say, seeing it all day is not the same as seeing YOUR Christmas decorations, in YOUR home.  Particularly when you drive up late in the evening, it’s dark, and all the Christmas lights are lit up.  It was a very special, wonderful feeling, and they gave me an amazing end to a very trying day.  Absolutely glorious.

Part of the problem, too, is just being so busy all the time.  Working two jobs, particularly at this time of the year, leaves little time for reflection or noticing the passage of time.  So even though I see the stuff all the time, it has sort of snuck up on me that, yeah, it’s time to get the shopping done.  Only 22 more days, as the girls’ countdown calendar advised me this morning.  Yikes!

So I’m thinking as I walk out the door that, you know, I just can’t seem to get in the spirit.  I can’t believe it’s December and I just don’t feel like…and then it hits me.  Literally hits me, right in the nose – snow. 

Okay, it’s barely snow.  Little tiny flakes, not even really flakes, and barely spitting down so that you have to squint and stare at a particular spot to even see it, but by God, it’s snow.  🙂  And everything changed. 

I miss snow so much.  When I was growing up in Oklahoma, we had snow every winter, lots of it.  Not all the time, and not always on Christmas, but by Christmas we’d usually had a few good snowfalls.  Here in Charleston, it doesn’t snow that often, and when it does it doesn’t often amount to much or last very long.  So I miss that.  I miss the bitter, biting cold and the Arctic winds and the honest-to-God snow.  Those are the things that I always expect from Christmas time, and I think one of the reasons that I’ve had trouble in the past few years feeling very Christmas-y.

So although I expect that we probably won’t have much in the way of snow, I am very grateful for the little spate we had this morning.   I needed that.  Maybe now I can start to have a little of that generous, loving, joyful Christmas spirit.  I hope so!

